top of page

Morning report


Sorry for missing yesterday's report. I had intended to finish these weapon designs in time to post, but the long-barrelled rail-gun took all day to create!

The weekend saw me running the latest ionAXXIA on Android. I'm terrible really - you should keep testing changes on platforms as you go, but I naughtily tend to add 'just one more thing' before testing on devices and then, before I know it, it's been 4 months and there are many changes that may have broken things. Thankfully, what problems there were didn't take too long to identify and fix.

Much of the weapon art in ionAXXIA is presently lifted off the internet, so of course I need my own. That's why I created the above two pieces, for the current twin blaster and a new, simple single shooter. In Star Control, my go-to reference, most ships had a single shot weapon, with only the Yehat having a twin cannon among the gun types, which gives quite the 'chance to hit' advantage. The Yehat was an expensive ship, so I definitely need a cheap single shooter.

Which brings me to my last design concern which is balancing. I need to cost a basic, limited ship, work out base speeds for ships, cost a big, tough dreadnought, and balancing everything out on paper. Then I'll put it in game and see how it works together. The upgradeable components may change things a lot though. I have a key decision to make, whether upgraded components cost more or whether their price is fixed?

What do you think?


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page